Back to Back Issues Page
In the Groove, Issue #012 -- Roush Yates Fords Making an Impression
April 27, 2011
Hi ,

Welcome to edition 12 of In the Groove, brought to you by

Have friends who are interested in Sprint Car Racing? Let them know about

Roush Yates Fords making an impression

The new Roush Yates ASCS Sprint 360 Ford engine has been making a big impression. Using the new engine Jeff Swindell became the first Ford winner in the ASCS National seriesí history at I-30 Speedway on April 15. Renowned for their success in NASCAR Sprint Cup, we are sure to see more Roush Yates Fords appear in Sprint Car racing very soon.

Outlaws update

The 2011 World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series has so far been a battle between Steve Kinser and Joey Saldana, with reigning champion Jason Meyers and four-time champion Donny Schatz yet to record a feature win. Saldana on 1546 points leads Steve Kinser on 1542 and Meyers on 1501. As bad weather has forced the postponement of the last three nights of racing you can be sure the Outlaws are busting to hit Indianaís Tri-State Speedway on April 30.

Click here to view the full 2011 WoO schedule and to keep up-to-date with the winners of each round

Diecast Sprint Car models has a huge range of Diecast Sprint Car Models for sale. If you're looking for a recent release or a classic, check out the collection which includes models from R&R Enterprises and Motorsport Authentics.

Blaney leads All Star Points

With four rounds in the books Dale Blaney heads the points tally for the 2011 All Star Circuit of Champions. Blaney, who won the last round at Attica Raceway Park on April 9, has 823 points from reigning champion Tim Shaffer on 765 and David Gravel on 747. The All Stars now move on to Williams Grove Speedway on April 29.

Click here to view the full 2011 ASCoC schedule and to keep up-to-date with the winners of each round

Brag to the world about your Sprint Car team!

All Sprint Car Racing fans have heard of Tony Stewart Racing and Donny Schatz Motorsports, however Sprint Brag gives lesser known Sprint Car teams a chance to promote themselves. Teams can create a FREE page on about their team, including photos etc. You can give your sponsors a plug and let Sprint Car fans across the globe know about your team. Creating a page is simple, just click here.

Eight winners in eight rounds for ASCS

The first eight events of the ASCS National series have seen eight different winners in victory lane. Tim Kaeding kicked off the championship with a win at Thunderbowl Raceway on February 9. Last round winner Gary Wright snapped the longest winless streak of his ASCS National career at I-30 Speedway on April 16. 2009 champion Shane Stewart leads the series with 1072 points from Johnny Herrera on 962 and Jeff Swindell on 956. The next round of the ASCS National series will be at Riverside International Speedway on May 7.

Click here to view the full American Sprint Car Series 2011 National Schedule and to keep up-to-date with the winners of each round

Erin Crocker Evernham makes history again

Erin Crocker Evernham once again created history by becoming the first woman to win a main event in the 15-year existence of the United Sprint Car Series when she won at Carolina Speedway on April 15. After crossing the finish line Crocker struck another car, resulting in a series of flips which carried her over an outside retaining wall. Crocker was unhurt and was able to attend the winnerís ceremony. Ironically the second place finisher was also a female driver, eighteen year-old Morgan Turpen. Crocker became the first woman to win a World of Outlaws feature at Thunderbowl Raceway, Tulare CA in 2004.

Rain dampens USAC Sprint Car National Championship

Bad weather has played havoc with the start of the 2011 USAC Sprint Car National Championship. Since the opening three rounds at Ocala Speedway in February the series has suffered five consecutive rain outs. Damion Gardner leads the series with 201 points from Levi Jones on 180 and Bryan Clauson 178. The next round will be at Gas City I-69 Speedway on April 29, which is a make-up date for the April 15 event which was rained out.

Click here to view the full 2011 USAC National Sprint Series schedule and to keep up-to-date with the winners of each round

Sprint Car Parts for sale

Looking for a great deal on new and used Sprint Car Parts? has a large range of Sprint Car Parts for sale. Whether you're looking for a new torsion bar or a rolling chassis you'll find it at

Farr finally wins World Series Sprintcars title

After being the runner up for the past three years Robbie Farr finally succeeded in winning his maiden World Series Sprintcars championship. Farr, who finished with 4021 points beat home David Murcott on 3787 and Jason Johnson 3792. The title fight went down to the final round at the Perth Motorplex on February 18 & 19, but unfortunately for Murcott the round was a disaster with the Victorian driver unable to make the A-main field on both nights. World Series Sprintcars is Australia's national sprint car series.

Sprint Car Videos

Donít forget to check out the latest additions to the Video Vault. New videos are added regularly, so don't miss any of the wild action!

Got any suggestions?

What would you like to see on If you have any suggestions on the website or for the next edition of In the Groove, fill out the feedback form by clicking on the link below.

Click here to go to the Feedback form

Back to Back Issues Page