Back to Back Issues Page
In the Groove, Issue #006 -- World Series Sprintcars
December 06, 2007
Hi ,

Welcome to edition 7 of In the Groove, brought to you by

Have friends who are interested in Sprint Car Racing? Let them know about

World Series Sprintcars

Australia's premier Sprint Car series kicked off on November 9 at Perth's Kwinana Motorplex. Now with 6 rounds completed Brooke Tatnell holds a 28 point lead over defending champion Max Dumesny. Tatnell broke away early in the series, building a strong points buffer with wins at the opening round in Perth, and then again in Round 4 at Adelaide's Speedway City. However Dumesny has gained ground on Tatnell at the last two rounds at Brisbane International Speedway and Sydney's Parramatta City Raceway. The next round of WSS will be contested at Hobart International Speedway on Saturday, December 8.

The current WSS top 5 points are: Brooke Tatnell (856), Max Dumesny (828), Robbie Farr (818), Trevor Green (804), David Murcott (786)

Click here to view the full 2007 WSS schedule and to keep up-to-date with the winners of each round

Donny's luck runs out

Donny Schatz's luck had to run out and some stage and unfortunately for his Australian car owner, Garry Rush, it happened when Donny arrived in Australia. Donny destroyed his racecar in round one of the World Series Sprintcars Championship after riding the wheel of fellow American Mark Dobmeier. The following night the Rush Racing team wheeled out their prize winning car from last season and finished second to Kerry Madsen. Disaster struck once again at Kalgoorlie International Speedway when Schatz rode a wheel for the second time in three nights and junked the teams second and only remaining chassis.

Kraig Kinser joins Tony Stewart Racing

Tony Stewart recently announced that Kraig Kinser will be replacing Paul McMahon for the 2008 season. Kinser, an eight-time World of Outlaws race winner, will contest the entire WoO Sprint Series alongside reigning WoO champion Donny Schatz.

Toyota expands involvement in USAC

Toyota is expanding its USAC involvement to include engines developed for Sprint Car and Silver Crown competition. In a dream start for TRD (Toyota Racing Development), the first-ever Toyota-powered sprint car was driven to victory at the 2007 Turkey Night by driver Bobby Santos III on November 22 at Irwindale Speedway. The Toyota 360 Sprint Car V8 will no doubt be making a big impact at USAC and ASCS events across the US in 2008.

Lucas Wolfe is Outlaw bound

Car owners Jim & Laura Allebach have announced that the 5 W Team, with Lucas Wolfe, will contest the World of Outlaws Sprint Series for the 2008 racing season. Wolfe will be competing for the WoO Kevin Gobrecht Rookie of the Year Award.

Die Cast Sprint Car Models

Looking for a great Christmas present? has a huge range of Die Cast Sprint Car Models for sale. If you're looking for a recent release or a classic, check out the collection which includes models from R&R Enterprises and Motorsport Authentics.

Championship roundup

For those of you who haven't had a chance to catch up on who won what championship here's a quick rundown:

World of Outlaws - Donny Schatz; USAC National Sprint Car Series - Levi Jones; USAC Silver Crown - Bud Kaeding; All Star Circuit of Champions - Greg Wilson; American Sprint Cars on Tour - Gary Wright

Sprint Car Parts for sale

Looking for a great deal on new and used Sprint Car Parts? has a large range of Sprint Car Parts for sale. Whether you're looking for a new torsion bar or a rolling chassis you'll find it at

Sprint Car Videos

Donít forget to check out the latest additions to the Video Vault. New videos are added regularly, so don't miss any of the wild action!

Got any suggestions?

What would you like to see on If you have any suggestions on the website or for the next edition of In the Groove, fill out the feedback form by clicking on the link below.

Click here to go to the Feedback form

Back to Back Issues Page