Back to Back Issues Page
In the Groove, Issue #008 -- World of Outlaws Fire Up
February 11, 2008
Hi ,

Welcome to edition 8 of In the Groove, brought to you by

Have friends who are interested in Sprint Car Racing? Let them know about

2008 World of Oultaws Sprint Car Series fires up

The 2008 Advance Auto Parts World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series fired up at Volusia Raceway Park in Florida on Thursday, February 8. First blood was taken by Craig Dollanksy who prevailed over Donny Schatz and Terry McCarl. Night 2 saw Jason Meyers score victory in front of Donny Schatz and Joey Saldana. The final of the 2008 World of Outlaws Alltel Dirt Car Nationals was won by Danny Lasoski who took the checkered ahead of Craig Dollansky and Jason Meyers. The WoO next head to Pike County Speedway, Missouri, on February 16.

Click here to view the full 2008 WoO schedule and to keep up-to-date with the winners of each round

All Star Circuit of Champions

The O’Reilly All Star Circuit of Champions kicked off their 2008 season at North Florida Speedway in Lake City, FL on February 1 & 2. Sam Hafertepe Jnr scored the first A-Feature victory of the year with Dale Blaney coming home second and Randy Hannagan third. Night 2 of the Icebreaker 2008: The Sunshine Showdown, was won by Fred Rahmer with Lucas Wolfe second and Lance Dewease third.

The All Stars next headed to Volusia Raceway Park for the 37th Annual Alltel DIRTcar Nationals. A large field of 52 cars rolled into the pits, which included World of Outlaws and PA Posse teams. Donny Schatz outclassed the field to take the $7,000 beating home Jason Meyers and Steve Kinser. Wayne Johnson shot passed both Danny Lasoski and Sam Hafertepe Jnr to take the money on night 2. Donny Schatz repeated his night 1 performance on night 3 when he raced across the finish line to finish first ahead of Joey Saldana and Jason Meyers.

After the first five rounds the All Stars top five are:

1. Fred Rahmer (844), 2. Lance Dewease (843), 3. Chad Layton (774), 4. Randy Hannagan (754), 5. Brian Paulus (748).

The All Stars next head to Attica Raceway Park, Ohio on Friday, April 4.

Click here to view the full 2008 ASCoC schedule and to keep up-to-date with the winners of each round

Brag to the world about your Sprint Car team!

All Sprint Car Racing fans have heard of Tony Stewart Racing and Donny Schatz Motorsports, however Sprint Brag gives lesser known Sprint Car teams a chance to promote themselves. Teams can create a page on about their team, including a photo etc. You can give your sponsors a plug and let Sprint Car fans across the globe know about your team. Creating a page is simple, just click here.

ASCoT 32nd Annual Winter Nationals

The O'Reilly American Sprint Cars on Tour National Series began at East Bay Raceway Park's 32nd Annual Winter Nationals in Tampa, Florida on January 31. The victor on night one was Kenny Adams who moved forward from the fifth row to outpace defending series champion Gary Wright and Travis Rilat. WoO star Terry McCarl scored his sixth career ASCoT victory on night two ahead of Jason Johnson in second and Gary Wright in third. Night three saw Jason Johnson crowned the Tenth Annual "King of the 360's" Nationals finale after pacing all 40 laps of the Ronald Laney Memorial. Johnson overpowered Gary Wright in second and Terry McCarl who finished third to take home the $10,500 winner's purse.

After the first three rounds top five ASCoT points are:

1. Gary Wright (143), 2. Jason Johnson (142), 3. Terry McCarl (139), 4. Travis Rilat (138), 5. Kenny Adams (132).

Click here to view the full 2008 ASCoT schedule and to keep up-to-date with the winners of each round

Aussie Title postponed

Inclement weather in Sydney has forced the postponement of the Australian Sprintcar Title to Saturday, March 29. Originally scheduled to be run on January 31, February 1 & 2 at Tyrepower Parramatta City Raceway, persistent rain caused havoc when only time trials were completed on the first night. The damage done to the track on the first night and more showers the next morning caused the second night to be cancelled. The rain held off for the third night and all sixteen heat races from the previous two nights were contested. The scrambles and feature races were to be held on Sunday, February 3, however more rain once again caused the racing to be postponed.

The top five in points after the qualifying heats are:

1. Garry Brazier (84), 2. Ken Sartori (83.5), 3. Adrian Maher (82.5), 4. Kerry Madsen (81.5), 5. Ian Louden (81).

Tatnell wins 6th WSS Championship

Brooke Tatnell captured his sixth World Series Sprintcars Championship on Saturday, January 12 at Brisbane International Speedway. Heading into the final round Tatnell held a slender 13 point lead over Robbie Farr with Max Dumesny only 14 points in arrears. Doubling as the Australian Sprintcar Open, the event was contested over 50 gruelling laps. Unfortunately for Farr and Dumesny, both drivers ended their championship fight by crashing out of contention. Tatnell crossed the line finishing in fifth position, securing him his sixth WSS Champsionship.

The 07/08 WSS top five were:

1. Brooke Tatnell (2046), 2. Robbie Farr (2023), 3. Max Dumesny (2010), 4. Trevor Green (1977), 5. David Murcott (1903).

Die Cast Sprint Car Models has a huge range of Die Cast Sprint Car Models for sale. If you're looking for a recent release or a classic, check out the collection which includes models from R&R Enterprises and Motorsport Authentics.

Schatz steals the cash again!

Donny Schatz once again returned to the USA from Australia a richer man after winning A$72,000 in a week. Schatz captured his seventh $50,000 International on January 6 at Tyrepower Parramatta City Raceway and then travelled up to Brisbane International Speedway on January 11 where he won A$22,000 after taking out the Australian Sprintcar Open. Schatz also won the Valvoline Sprintcar Grand Prix on Wednesday, December 26.

Farr triumphs at Outlaws Down Under V

Australia’s Robbie Farr and runner-up Brooke Tatnell created Outlaws Down Under history with a one-two finish in the Grand Final at Tyrepower Parramatta City Raceway on Sunday, January 20. Farr led throughout the 30-lap final and staved off a pressing Craig Dollansky for most of the race before the American succumbed to a mechanical failure with five laps remaining. Third across the line was Indiana’s Joey Saldana, while Danny Lasoski, Donnie Schatz, Jason Meyers, Sammy Swindell, Paul McMahan, Jason Sides and Marty Perovich rounded out the top ten.

Sprint Car Parts for sale

Looking for a great deal on new and used Sprint Car Parts? has a large range of Sprint Car Parts for sale. Whether you're looking for a new torsion bar or a rolling chassis you'll find it at

Wilson wins 2008 New Zealand Sprint Car Title

Aucklander Carl Wilson won the 2008 New Zealand Sprint Car Championship on January 5 at Mt Maunganui's Baypark Speedway. Wilson won the dash, taking pole position for the 30-lap feature. After the green flag dropped Wilson soon fell back to third place, but on lap 15 he managed to make his way back to the front, and held on to the lead until the checkered flag, finishing ahead of Kerry Jones, Phil Game and Greg Pickerill.

Sprint Car Videos

Don’t forget to check out the latest additions to the Video Vault. New videos are added regularly, so don't miss any of the wild action!

Got any suggestions?

What would you like to see on If you have any suggestions on the website or for the next edition of In the Groove, fill out the feedback form by clicking on the link below.

Click here to go to the Feedback form

Back to Back Issues Page