Back to Back Issues Page
In the Groove, Issue #011 -- World of Outlaws set to fire up
February 04, 2011
Hi ,

Welcome to edition 11 of In the Groove, brought to you by

Have friends who are interested in Sprint Car Racing? Why not let them know about

In the Groove is back!

After a break, which we apologize for, In the Groove is back. Once again the latest news in Sprint Car racing will be sent straight to your inbox. We are making one change though - In the Groove will now be a quarterly publication instead of bi-monthly. I hope you enjoy catching up on the latest news from the most exciting sport in the world, Sprint Car Racing.

World of Outlaws set to fire up

The World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series kicks off its 34th season with the 40th Annual Florida DIRTcar Nationals on Feb. 11-12-13 at Volusia Speedway Park. Three full nights of racing begin the battle for the 2011 series championship. Jason Meyers returns to defend his title, as does four-time champion Donny Schatz and his team mate, 20-time champion Steve Kinser. Last season’s DIRTcar Nationals winner Joey Saldana, driving the Kasey Kahne Racing Maxim, will be looking for another stellar start to his World of Outlaws campaign.

Diecast Sprint Car Models has a huge range of Diecast Sprint Car Models for sale. If you're looking for a recent release or a classic, check out the collection which includes models from R&R Enterprises and Motorsport Authentics.

Tatnell wins title number four

Brooke Tatnell won his fourth Australian Sprintcar Title on January 28-29 at Warrnambool's Premier Speedway. Tatnell won the race in dominant style, running the highline to perfection to win ahead of Kerry Madsen and Steven Lines. Tatnell won his previous three titles in 2005-2007.

Outlaws return to Knoxville Nationals

World Racing Group and Knoxville Raceway recently announced that the World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series will sanction the 51st Annual Goodyear Knoxville Nationals to be held on August 10-13, 2011, at Knoxville Raceway in Knoxville, Iowa. The richest and most prestigious event in Sprint Car racing has not been a sanctioned World of Outlaws event since 2006 when the race was run under Knoxville Raceway track rules because of the split between the World of Outlaws and the National Sprint Tour.

Brag to the world about your Sprint Car team!

All Sprint Car Racing fans have heard of Tony Stewart Racing and Kasey Kahne Racing, however Sprint Brag gives lesser known Sprint Car teams a chance to promote themselves. Teams can create a FREE page on about their team, including a photo etc. You can give your sponsors a plug and let Sprint Car fans across the globe know about your team. Creating a page is simple, just click here.

Lines wins the Grand Annual Classic

South Australia’s Steven Lines outclassed a stellar field of over 80 cars to win his maiden Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic held at Warrnambool’s Premier Speedway on Sunday, January 23. Lines steered his J&J to victory ahead of Brooke Tatnell and Jason Johnson. The field included some of the biggest names is sprint car racing including World of Outlaws champion Jason Meyers, Joey Saldana, Craig Dollansky, Johnathon Allard, Shane Stewart, Lucas Wolfe and Cody Darrah.

Schatz claims another $50,000

Donny Schatz once again claimed the winner’s check at the $50,000-to-win Scott Darley Sprintcar Classic held at Sydney Speedway on Saturday, January 8. Schatz has dominated the race, winning the event nine times in twelve years. Schatz took the win with a last corner pass on Craig Dollansky, Shane Stewart completed the podium.

Murcott leads WSS championship

With only four rounds of the World Series Sprintcars championship left to run Victoria's David Murcott leads the series on 2805 points from Robbie Farr on 2765 and Steven Lines 2562. All of the final rounds will all be held in Western Australia, with the final at the Perth Motorplex on February 18-19.

New Zealand Sprint Car Championships

California’s Johnathon Allard won the 2010/11 New Zealand Sprint Car title at Baypark Speedway on January 9. Allard, who was runner up in the event last season, beat home fellow American Tommy Tarlton and Peter Murphy. Allard has competed at the speedway each year since the 2006 World of Outlaws event for car owner Kevin McGreal.

Sprint Car Parts for sale

Looking for a great deal on new and used Sprint Car Parts? has a large range of Sprint Car Parts for sale. Whether you're looking for a new torsion bar or a rolling chassis you'll find it at

Kraig Kinser partners with Lonnie Parsons #6

Kraig Kinser, son of 20-time World of Outlaws champion Steve Kinser, has shifted from the family-owned car into the Lonnie Parsons-owned #6 Casey’s General Stores Sprint Car for the upcoming season. Kinser has nine World of Outlaws victories in his career and finished the 2010 championship with eight Top 5’s and 30 Top 10’s. The Parsons Motorsports team will run Maxim chassis powered by Kistler Engines.

Sprint Car Videos

Don’t forget to check out the latest additions to the Video Vault. New videos are added regularly, so don't miss any of the wild action!

Got any suggestions?

What would you like to see on If you have any suggestions on the website or for the next edition of In the Groove, fill out the feedback form by clicking on the link below.

Click here to go to the Feedback form

Back to Back Issues Page