National Sprint Tour

Sprint Tour

The National Sprint Tour (NST) was formed in December 2005 after differences of opinion between management and several of the top teams from the World of Outlaws Sprint Series caused a split.

The breakaway group, including major drawcards Steve Kinser and Danny Lasoski originally signed up with the National Sprint Car League for the 2006 season. The group was backed by Petty Enterprises, however their attempt to form this series failed, so the drivers then worked with Fred Brownfield of Brownfield Promotions to create what is now known as the National Sprint Tour.

With the motto of “Lets go racing!”, the 2006 schedule was quickly formed and eventually grew to 50 nights of racing at 30 different race tracks across the US.

The inaugural race at Tulare Thunderbowl Raceway, a two night show on February 24 & February 25, 2006 was won in a clean sweep by Steve Kinser.

Teams and drivers that were committed to racing with the series in 2006 include Danny Lasoski (Roth Motorsports), Jason Meyers (Elite Racing), Brian Paulus (P and P Motorsports), Steve Kinser (Steve Kinser Racing), Tim Kaeding (Steve Kinser Racing), Shane Stewart (Rudeen Racing), Tim Shaffer (Parsons Motorsports), Brandon Wimmer (Two Winners Racing), Jason Solwold (Lon Carnahan Motorsports), Jason Sides (Sides Motorsports), Lucas Wolfe (David Helm/Selma Shell Racing), and Paul McMahan (Tony Stewart Motorsports).

Fred Brownfield was tragically killed as a result of an accident at Grays Harbor Raceway on Friday, June 16, 2006. Fred's death was a major blow to the series as his drive and determination was a major part of what had made it a successin its early days. On July 18, 2006 the series was purchased by three of the race teams competing on the the tour; Don Lamberti and Lonnie Parsons (Parsons Motorsports), Guy Stockbridge (Elite Racing) and Steve Kinser (Steve Kinser Racing).

Danny Lasoski was crowned the first Champion of the National Sprint Tour, second was Steve Kinser and third was Tim Kaeding.

At the end of the inaugural season cracks were beginning to show and before long it was announced that most of the top teams were heading back to the World of Outlaws for the 2007 season. Most notably, two of the departing teams were Steve Kinser Racing, a part owner of the series, and Roth Motorsports (Danny Lasoski).

Country: USA
Location: National Series
Surface: Dirt
Started: 2006
Engine size: 410ci
Front & Top Wings
Weight Rule: 1375lbs
2006 Schedule & Winners

Click for the full National Sprint Tour 2006 Schedule

Return to the Home Page from National Sprint Tour