USAC National Sprint Car Series

USAC National
Sprint Car Series

Typical USAC sideways action

The USAC National Sprint Car Series is a non-wing championship powered by 410ci engines which competes across the USA. USAC stands for the United States Auto Club, which was once the main sanctioning body of Sprint Car Racing in the USA.

Historically run on both dirt and asphalt tracks, the 2011 National series will mark the first time since 1987 that all events will be conducted on dirt surfaces, with pavement events separated into their own championship series for 2011.

The 2012 series schedule consists of approximately 47 races starting on February 9 through to November 3.

Two of the largest events on the calendar include the 4-Crown Nationals at Eldora Speedway, Ohio and the Tony Hulman Classic at Terre Haute, Indiana.

Formed in 1956, past champions of the series include some of Speedway's greatest names, including Parnelli Jones, Johnny Rutherford, Ken Schrader and Tony Stewart.

Originally split into two divisions, Midwest and East, the two divisions were combined in 1961.

It's not unusual for drivers in the National Sprint Car Series to also compete in the USAC Silver Crown Series. Many drivers use the USAC series as a stepping stone to higher profile classes of racing such as NASCAR.

The popularity of winged Sprint Car series such as the World of Outlaws has affected the series, however it is still held in high regard and viewed as "real" Sprint Car Racing by the purists.

 1. Bryan Clauson
 2. Dave Darland
 3. Jon Stanbrough
 4. Tracy Hines
 5. Damion Gardner
 6. Chase Stockon
 7. Robert Ballou
 8. H. Schuerenberg
 9. Levi Jones
10. Chris Windom
Final 2012 points

Country: USA
Location: National Series
Surface: Dirt & Asphalt
Started: 1956
Engine size: 410ci
Weight Rule: 1400lbs
2012 Schedule & Winners
2011 Schedule & Winners
2010 Schedule & Winners
2009 Schedule & Winners
2008 Schedule & Winners
2007 Schedule & Winners
2006 Schedule & Winners
USAC Website


src="" alt="free

invisible hit counter" border="0">

Click here to view the entire USAC National Sprint Car Series
2012 Schedule

Return to the Home Page from USAC National Sprint Car Series